10 Things Robin Williams Has Taught Me. (R.I.P.)

robin-williams-cover-ftr

R.I.P. to one of the true modern Hollywood legends, Mr. Robin Williams. Robin Williams wasn’t just an actor, he was a true comedic artist that inspired an entire generation. He was brilliant in his long career cut short by this tragedy, but his memory still remains. For the millions of people who didn’t know Mr. Williams personally, it wasn’t hard to say we all felt like we did because we grew up with him. The numerous roles that Williams has made iconic has touched lives all over the world. His impressive career renaissance (between the years of 1987-1997) flared a generation’s imagination with magic and laughter. Growing up in the 90s, I was able to experience Mr. Williams’ impact to my generation. Even though I wasn’t born in his 1980s years, his films were always around the bend. He is a true inspiration to me. Here is a list of some things Robin Williams has taught me, even though he’ll never know it, I am forever grateful.

Good Morning Vietnam (1987) – Robin Williams taught me to never take life too seriously. He taught me that laughter and comedy was everything. 

Dead Poets Society (1989) – He taught me to be inspired and to live everyday like it was my last. He taught me to love life and art, and to follow my heart.Hook (1991) – He taught me to stay young at heart forever. He taught me that Neverland was never far away when I wanted my childhood spirit back.Aladdin (1992) – He taught me that magic existed, and it was possible to become anything when you’ve got a good heart. Mrs. Doubtfire (1993) – He taught to stop at nothing to be with my family and gain their approval and respect. He taught me to value my family over everything. Jumangi (1995) – He taught to finish everything that I started. He also taught me that I can survive through anything with the help of the people I love. The Birdcage (1996) – He taught me never be afraid to make a fool out of myself. He also taught me that there are a lot of things in life that involves compromise.Flubber (1997) – He taught me to exercise my mind and creativity. He also taught me to love all things that are weird and out of the ordinary. Good WIll Hunting (1997) – He taught me that it wasn’t my fault. He taught me that I should never blame myself. He taught never to let important things pass me by. Patch Adams (1998) – He taught me to always to wear a smile, even when you’re going through the most difficult things in life.

So to my hero, to My Captain, O Captain, rest in peace. You will be remembered. You are loved. You will always be my teacher, my genie, my doctor, my comedian, my psychiatrist and someone who made the movies very special for me. 

 

Leave a Reply

