Final Oscar Predictions

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote an article about the upcoming Academy Awards. Since today’s the day in the United States (it shows tomorrow at 6.A.M. here in Manila, on Lifestyle Network…don’t miss it!), I thought I’d write about my FINAL PREDICTIONS…even though it’s almost the same as the last time, except for one which I think could be the night’s shocker (well kinda…).

I’m not putting all my predictions on here, just for the major awards (picture, acting, directing and writing categories) because I joined a competition and I don’t want to post what I put on my ballot, but I’ll definitely write about it after the awards show.

12-years-a-slaveBest Motion Picture of the Year
WILL WIN: “12 Years a Slave”
ALTERNATE: “Gravity”

They say it’s a three way race between “12 Years a Slave”, “Gravity” and “American Hustle’, all winning equal amounts of precursor awards to make it the frontrunner, but I still think “12 Years a Slave” will take it. Just a gut feeling, I think it’s too “important” to ignore. And it’ll be a very worthy winner.

Dallas-Buyers-Club_612x380Best Actor in a Leading Role
WILL WIN: Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”
ALTERNATE: Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Wolf of Wall Street”

At this point of the race, I don’t think DiCaprio will spoil anymore (though I don’t mind being wrong about this). McConaughey is just too strong an opponent. Leo’s my personal choice for the win (I’ve seen every nominee) but McConaughey’s Ron Woodroof is a sure bet tomorrow!

cate-blanchett1Best Actress in a Leading Role
WILL WIN: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”
ALTERNTE: Amy Adams, “American Hustle”

There is no way Cate Blanchett will loose this at all. Even with the recent Dylan Farrow controversy it’s just hers to loose. It’s in the bag for Oscar number two. Thought Bullock or Dench seem like possible alternates, I still think the Academy’s love for Hustle and 5-time Academy Award loser Amy Adams puts her in second place now.

jared_leto_dallas_buyers_clubBest Actor in a Supporting Role
WILL WIN: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”
ALTERNATE: Barkad Abdi

If he doesn’t win, it’ll be one of the most shocking things to ever happen in Academy Awards history. He’s virtually won everything (except BAFTA so virtually everything), so there’s nothing more to say.

American-Hustle-Jennifer-LawrenceBest Actress in a Supporting Role
WILL WIN: Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle”
ALTERNATE: Lupita N’yongo, “12 Years a Slave”

The most debated category apart from Best Picture is the incredibly weak/overrated lineup of Best Supporting Actress nominees. Lupita seems destined to be a winner but I really don’t see Lawrence (who the Academy loves) loosing after the BAFTA win. Maybe, I’m wrong, because it’s kind of dumb to predict her over Lupita, but I just have this hunch okay…

gravity-alfonso-cuaron-george-clooney-set-imageBest Director
WILL WIN: Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity”
ALTERNATE: Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave”

Alfonso Cuaron Will Win This. All caps? ALFONSO CUARON WILL WIN THIS…that’s all caps.

Best Original Screenplay
WILL WIN: “American Hustle”
ALTERNATE: “Her”

My original prediction was “Her”, but the Academy loves O. Russell, and he’s given them two Best Picture nominated movies (“The Fighter” and “Silver Linings Playbook”) under his belt and I think they’re ready to finally award him with something.

Best Adapted Screenplay
WILL WIN: “12 Years a Slave”
ALTERNATE: “Philomena”

I think there’s no other winner then “12 Years a Slave” in this department. It needs another Oscar to match it’s Best Picture win.

Leave a Reply

