Review: All is Lost (2013, J.C. Chandor)

Robert Redford in All Is LostRATING: 4.5/10

Director: J.C. Chandor
Cast: Robert Redford
Screenplay: J.C. Chandor

I’ll make this short because I don’t really have much to say about this film. Did I miss anything? Because all the rave reviews of “All is Lost” made it seem like a major film to watch this year. It certainly isn’t a bad movie (its technicals are breathtaking), but I struggle to give it a score of an even 5 just because I was bored out of my wits. However, there were more redeeming qualities to the film, then “The Butler”, a film so jam packed with things (especially bad acting) that didn’t even reach half of the power that “All is Lost” had.

Basically, the film is Robert Redford on a boat, or “Sailing 101 with Robert Redford”. Sorry, I know it’s mean, but it’s really truly. Redford plays “Our Man”, who we find alone on a sinking sail boat. For the rest of the 106 minutes of the film (which felt like three hours to me), we follow Redford’s day by day routine, as he tries to survive in the ocean alone.

Truthfully, the feeling of isolation really is there. Which I think the film is really all about. But unfortunately, one really lacks any emotional connection to this man because there is no reason for us to be connected to him at all. We know nothing about him! Robert Redfords’s best performance, as the critics and a number of people say, is this? No way. Though Redford is certainly a more capable director then actor,  he’s starred in numerous classic films with such wonderful roles like the Sundance Kid, or his role in “The Sting” (1973) and even his truly remarkable portrayal as Hubble across Barbra Streisand in “The Way We Were” (1973). Truly, this is his most physical performance (and at this age too!) but most challenging ACTING performance is the absolute wrong term to describe this.

Apart from the sound mixing and possibly the score, I feel like I just missed the point of the film. Can someone enlighten me? But please don’t be rude just because I didn’t get it.

Leave a Reply

