Trailer Roundup: Opinions on Upcoming Movies


Adore (2013)

ME LIKEY:
– Provocative. Provocative. Provocative. That word will be thrown around one million and one times when the movie comes out. Never really heard of a storyline like this for awhile. I’m excited to see how this plays out.
– Naomi Watts. An actress who has payed her dues and comes up with very decent work in every role that she choose. She’s ageing beautifully and this looks like such a baity role for her.
– Looks like it’s beautifully photographed. Beautifully photographed sexually charged movies always seem entertaining to me.

ME NO LIKEY:
– If there’s nothing new in the way this is made (plot wise, direction wise) it may just come out as another one of those try-hard movies. It’s hard to tell now, but there’s a possibility.
– I’m yet to be impressed by Robin Wright. She’s good and all but this seems to be very internalized material. Let’s see what she does with it. Especially starring opposite someone like Naomi Watts.
– These women are way to MILFy. If they told us from the start they are already couples, I wouldn’t be surprised because it’s very possible. It’s just the whole “mother-son” thing that they keep telling us that makes it a bit compelling. Depends though with the treatment of the film.


Blue Jasmine (2013)

ME LIKEY:
– A classy Woody Allen flick. Usually his best work is about Upper class Americans. And though the trailer features someone falling from the top, it still looks very promising.
– The comedy looks smart and fascinating. Have people like Alec Baldwin and Sally Hawkins on board seems like such a great idea.
– Cate Blanchett looks fabulous in this. It’s great to see her in a more humanized role. She looks exquisite, and it seems like she’s taking Allen’s direction very well. She’s going to be the ultimate highlight of the film. She is the title character, anyway.

ME NO LIKEY:
– Hawkins and Blanchett do not look like sisters at all .But that’s more physical then anything. I’m sure this opinion will pass because we don’t even know the full story yet.
– Woody Allen has been hit and miss lately. This one looks like a good one so let’s keep our fingers crossed. But when it’s bad…it’s BAAAAAD.


Carrie (2013)

ME LIKEY:
– Stephen King horrors get to me all the time. Even the thrillers.
– Julianne Moore seems perfectly casted. I’m not too big on her singing scene, seems like a very cheap horror movie trick. But her presence in the trailer seems very strong.

ME NO LIKEY.
– Chloe Moretz. I was never a fan of this girl, so I truly don’t understand this casting. She doesn’t look like she can act. And this is really important because she’s the lead. Also, the movie is about having “powers” and if that doesn’t look convincing or if it looks like she’s just playing dress up then God save this film.
– I’m not against remakes. But with a film like “Carrie” it seems so unnecessary. Haven’t they learned from previous remakes that they’re just not that good. Start reinventing yourself, Hollywood please. I know it’s business but there’s other ways in making a pretty penny. I’m not even sure about the new “Carrie’s” box office draw.
– The subject matter isn’t too great for modern day audiences. It will always be great subject matter, just not for the movie goers of the modern day. If someone has powers it has to be “swag” and most of the time it sends up being a pretty bad film. I’m worried about this one.


The Conjuring (2013)

ME LIKEY:
– Vera Farmiga. I’ll watch this woman in anything. Ever since I discovered her in “The Departed” (2006), anything she will do goes straight down on my book. And I’m so glad she’s leaving this film.
– It looks like a very good horror movie (which we don’t get a lot these days). The director of “Saw” (2004) and “Insidious” (201) has reached somewhat of a iconic stature in horror films. So we’ll see.
– The effects look good. Very, “The Exorcist” (1973) but upgraded. They have to look real to be convincing. And so far, so good.

ME NO LIKEY:
– I’m not against James Wan as a director, but I’m not really a big fan of his previous work. So this one, I’m on the wall about. Hoping that I’m wrong though, cause I’m really excited for this one.
– Reminds me too much of any “Amityville” movie and that’s not usually a good thing. They’re not even scary, and some of them are just plain out bad.


The Wolf of Wall Street (2013)

ME LIKEY:
– Looks like old school Scorsese. Has a very “Goodfellas” (1990) vibe to it, and that’s very, very exciting, being that “Goodfellas” is in my top 10 of all time.
– Duh! Leonardo DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese. These two produce gold together. Enough said.
– I’ve decided to be opened minded about Mathew McCounoghey’s transition in becoming a serious actor. The last part of the trailer got me laughing because of it’s randomness. Maybe Scorsese will be out the best in him?
– The film screams Oscar. May not be a good thing sometimes. But I can’t help but dream of a glorifying track to Academy Awards night.
– Margot Robbie looks cute! I hope Scorsese really brings out something new and different in his female characters in this film. So far he’s got quite a number of impressive girls in this one. The trailer seems to objectify them, but I’m sure that’ll change in the movie.

ME NO LIKEY:
– Jonah Hill. I love him. Especially in comedies like “Superbad” (2007) and “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” (2008) but I don’t know about this one. His Supporting Actor nomination back in 2010 for “Moneyball” was a major WTF for me. I pray he doesn’t ruin this project, because so far I’m in love with it.
– Looks like a comedy or a rip off of “The Great Gatsby” (2013) in the trailer. Too many things are going on. I believe in the director so I’m in denial. But there are facts to it, and that’s one of them. It looks all quantity and not quality.

Leave a Reply

