Quick Review: Evil Dead (2013, Fede Alvarez)

evil-dead-redo001f-730x365

RATING: 4/10

Director: Fede Alvarez
Cast: Jane Levy, Shiloh Fernandez, Lou Taylor Pucci, Jessica Lucas, Elizabeth Blackmore
Screenplay: Fede Alvarez & Rodo Sayagues (Based on the film “The Evil Dead” by Sam Raimi)

Synopsis: Based on the 1981 cult horror classic “The Evil Dead”, we follow four friends in a secluded cabin in the woods as they awaken a demonic power that turns their lives upside down.

Quick Thoughts:

1. As a fan of the original I can’t say I’m disappointed in this re-make. To tell you the truth, I expected to give the film a much lower rating. But based on production and entertainment value, I got what I wanted. Not like the movie was crafted to win multiple Oscars.

2. The make-up is gruesome and terrifying. Without the goriness, this film would not stand a chance at all. The filmmaker’s hit B-movie gold with a perfect makeup designer.

3. The writing was horrible. I’ve got to be frank about it. Wasn’t sure if the acting was effected by the writing but it was just as bad. However, the actors did shine in their “demonic states”…I guess it’s not that hard to act possessed. Then again I didn’t expect much from amateur actors in a “fun” horror film.

4. I don’t regret watching “The Evil Dead”. It was fun while it lasted but this won’t make an impact on the great film year 2013 is expected to be. Hell, I don’t expect the filmmakers to remake the sequels. Now that I think about it: please don’t. ESPECIALLY “ARMY OF DARKNESS”.

Leave a Reply

